Jocko Will Lead Algonquin


Former Councillor Defeats Two Others For Chief

Wendy Jocko has been elected chief of the Algonquins of Pikwakanagan.

A member of council for the last three years, Ms. Jocko defeated former chiefs Lisa Meness and Greg Sarazin.

The ballots were counted Sunday morning following a month-long election where some 1700 eligible voters had the right to cast ballots. Voters had the option of voting online, by mail or in person at Pikwakanagan on Saturday.

Ms. Jocko polled 265 votes while Mr. Sarazin finished in second place with 213. Ms. Meness followed with 137.

All of the incumbent members of council who sought re-election were returned to office with Dan Kohoko leading the polls with 353 votes, followed by Merv Sarazin, a newcomer, in second  place with 348 votes. Incumbents Jim Meness and Barbara Sarazin tied with 343 votes each to fill the third and fourth seats while incumbent Steve Benoit finished fifth with 328 and Angelina Commanda in sixth with 323 markers.

See this week’s Eganville Leader for details.